top of page

Jeremie Boga: "No, I'm not afraid. On arrival I was offered several numbers, 10, 11, and ch

Jeremie Boga. The 19-year old wonderkid who has recently joined Granada on loan in the south of Spain has given an exclusive interview with Ideal about his first weeks training with coach Paco Jemez, his style of play and picking the number 10 shirt. [Many thanks to @Sport_witness for the article]

Boga spent last season on loan to Stade Rennais in Ligue 1 for his first season as a professional footballer, where he made 31 appearances and scored 3 goals. He now links up with former Rennes right back Dimitri Foulquier and is using him to communicate with the rest of his teammates.

Boga withdrew from yesterday's training, where he had an overload muscular problem, and admits he has never worked with this intensity before.

How was your first days in Granada?

Boga: "Very good. Everyone has welcomed me quite well. I have integrated well into the group and the training sessions are very good."

You travelled to London to play for Chelsea when you were 11 years old. The adaptation to Spain shouldn’t be a problem for you.

"No, already I am used to changing country and I'm going to start taking Spanish classes. I think I will learn fast, so I'm sure that adaptation will be fine."

Physically you're strong and technically you have many qualities. Do you think a technical League as the Spanish may suit you better than a physical one as the French?

"Yes, I think that in France the championship is more physical but the Spanish league will be more appropriate for me because I like the technical and combination play. I would say it is the perfect championship for me.

In England, everything is more direct whereas here they play with more possession of the ball. Spain is better for my style of football."

We have seen you attacking form the sides, but you prefer to do it from centre. What would you say is your ideal position on the pitch?

"I like the centre. I can also do so on the left side, I played a lot there last season."

Charly Musonda is barely 3 months older than you, he made a huge impact in Betis when he arrived last winter market. Do you think your adaptation will be similar?

"It’s true he had a very good beginning in this championship, but even though we have similar game we both have different paths. I wish him the best for this season. We are friends but haven’t had the opportunity to talk to him yet."

What factors do you think influenced the unexpected performance in Stade Rennais last campaign? What did you learn?

"I have to recognise that I didn’t play as much as I wanted to. The coach played me in positions that were new to me [he played him as a lone striker!] and I learnt from them. I focus only in the positive side of last season."

You arrived to Stade Rennais after 2 summers of Rayo Vallecano (under Paco Jémez by that time) begin interested in you. Now he’s your manager here in Granada.

"That’s right, Rayo Vallecano wanted me for 3 years. They talked to Chelsea about a loan but unfortunately we didn’t reach an agreement. Now I’m very happy for being able to be here in Granada under this big manager."

So you knew Jémez [Granada coach] before.

"Yeah, yeah. I did my research after I knew about Rayo Vallecano became interested. I knew about his style of play and that's what made me come."

Do you like working with coaches so demanding and involved with the player as in the case of Jemez?

"Yes, I think coaches are those features that I need as a young player I am. Which are pending from me to get the best out of myself. I like it.

"Mourinho was one of the greatest experiences. I have no doubt why he’s one of the best managers in the world. I learnt a lot even though I only shared time with him during pre-season."

Do you think Jeméz and Mourinho have similar personality?

"Yes, I think they are."

What factors of the project of Granada convinced you to come?

"It was the desire of the club to climb to the top of the league and mostly the manager. I knew the way he played. I like offensive and technical games and that’s the style I hope Granada will play next season."

There is only 3 official signing. Is the team nervous in order to know if there will be any other new signing?

"I’m calm, I focus on myself. I haven’t noticed any players nervous about it. The new players, and players that are leaving… that’s not of my business."

It is something that is said about you in a while, which is not afraid of anything.

"No, I'm not afraid. On arrival I was offered several numbers, 10, 11, and chose this. It is a responsibility that I take and I am prepared to assume."

Are you conscious that the dorsal number that you've chosen is no ordinary number?

"I know, it's a separate number. Now it's for me to show that I deserve to wear the number '10' on my shirt from Granada."

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
bottom of page